Not drilling. To high

Help for setting up and using
MohammadMubin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:57 pm

Not drilling. To high

Postby MohammadMubin » Mon Feb 13, 2017 8:03 pm

Hi everyone i am new to this forum and the 'cnc arena'I downloaded this software and i made my PCB,I imported it in Mach3 and it looked OK so i proceeded it was doing all the pre stuff but when it got to the milling it was higher then i set why?

3 microns is what i set in flat cam before exporting as .tap

daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Not drilling. To high

Postby daedelus » Thu Feb 16, 2017 5:35 pm

Welcome :),

There are many reasons the bit could be too high. Maybe try AutolevellerAE rather than the standard Autoleveller

In your AL'd gcode you will see lines such as this:

Code: Select all

G1 X2.6223  Y1.0436 Z[#100 + -0.2]
The -0.2 bit should be the depth you set in flatcam. In your case of 3 microns, this number would be -0.003.
Come to think of it 3 microns is incredibly small, can you not increase the depth in flat cam?
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James

MohammadMubin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:57 pm

Re: Not drilling. To high

Postby MohammadMubin » Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:12 am

Sorry for the Delay (a long one) but i have tried lowering down but now the issue is that in FlatCAM the value is -0.3 and in AL is -0.01?

PCB (Double Sided) where is bought off from: http://www.ebay.com/itm/10pcs-100x150mm ... _UnooTbaBA

(sorry i had trouble with Windows and PC that is why i was away for some time)

daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Not drilling. To high

Postby daedelus » Fri Feb 24, 2017 2:40 pm

How do you know AL is -0.01? I mean where do you see -0.01? In the gcode output file?

Also, are you using Autoleveller or AutolevellerAE? What is the version number?
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James

MohammadMubin
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Feb 13, 2017 7:57 pm

Re: Not drilling. To high

Postby MohammadMubin » Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:02 pm

I see #100 + -0.01 on lines ~50 i have some what it means since its 'etching' above the PCB

daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 313
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Not drilling. To high

Postby daedelus » Sat Feb 25, 2017 3:47 pm

Very odd. Which version are you using, Autoleveller or AutolevellerAE? It should tell you in the title bar or help > about.
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest