Generated file won't work !! Help

Help for setting up and using
Post Reply
Khaledelbadae
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:23 am

Generated file won't work !! Help

Post by Khaledelbadae » Tue Nov 27, 2018 12:06 pm

Hello guys,

I am new to the whole cnc thing not only the autolevelling software,

Trying to etch PCBs here .. downloded the free version .. set up the probs and got everything ready.

The it worked but with a lot of air cuts .. so i upgraded to the premium version and filled the custom controller parameters as the following ..

https://pasteboard.co/HP6fy0LS.jpg

https://pasteboard.co/HP6gAKs.jpg

And the mach3 screen won't even show the path when i load the levelled gcode .. and of course don't run ..

https://pasteboard.co/HP6ifRH.jpg

What am i doing wrong ?

I am using mach3 on windows7 .. my machine is using serial port for communication.

The generated code is attached.

Thanks in advance,
Attachments
ALCopperoldnnnnnnnnnn.nc
(57.53 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Generated file won't work !! Help

Post by daedelus » Wed Nov 28, 2018 7:12 pm

Hi Hamed,

Take a look at these lines from the GCode:

Code: Select all

G01 F60 Z-0.02107
G01 F300 X11.29 Y6.781Z-0.02054f
The lines with F300 have a lowercase f at the end. I dont know why you see this but I just used a text editor to remove these f's for now. There were 45 of them and were the reason Mach3 refused to load it I think.
ALCopperoldnnnnnnnnnn.nc
(57.49 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
I will look into this when I can, but have you got any ideas why in the meantime?
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James

Khaledelbadae
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:23 am

Re: Generated file won't work !! Help

Post by Khaledelbadae » Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:33 am

Hi james,

Yes the "f" was the reason, don't know the cause and the original file didn't contain any.
It was created with coppercam.

Something else, i read nearly every topic in the forum and followed the instructions to fill the custom controller parameters.

However, after probing fine, the bit doesn't etch .. it floats with a certain offset above the surface .. it only itches like 20% of the time.
So basically it works fine one time each 5 trials.

Any idea what may be causing this ?

Thanks for your time,
And it's Khaled btw 😃

daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Generated file won't work !! Help

Post by daedelus » Mon Dec 03, 2018 3:14 pm

Hi Khaled,

Apologies for getting your name wrong, I must have got muddled up with the other guy I was talking to on the forum at the same time. I tend to get muddled sometimes :o

Im guessing that the probe values are not being recorded properly sometimes. Check the RPF after probing. The first Z value should be close to 0. If not and if its a relatively large positive number then the tool will likely hang above the surface.

Have you tried selecting Mach3 as your controller and not Custom Controller? Does this work?
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James

Khaledelbadae
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:23 am

Re: Generated file won't work !! Help

Post by Khaledelbadae » Mon Dec 03, 2018 5:18 pm

Hi james,

Yes i tried it and it won't work unfortunately.

I used to run (auto level ) directly without going to the RPF procedure.

Yet, i did so as per your instructions and the first z value is -0.10156.
however it still floated with an offset 😔 ..

Can it be something with the controller ?

Also forgot to mention that sometimes it gets stuck in one of the g31 lines, and i would have to restart the pc running the mach3 so that it runs again.

Khaledelbadae
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:23 am

Re: Generated file won't work !! Help

Post by Khaledelbadae » Mon Dec 03, 2018 6:28 pm

On further trials ..
now the first z co-ordinate is 0.2 .. IN POSITIVE and of course still floating

daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 363
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Generated file won't work !! Help

Post by daedelus » Mon Dec 03, 2018 10:01 pm

I dug out this old small RPF of mine so you have something to compare to.

Code: Select all

-0.500000 -0.500000 0.005680 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
24.750000 -0.500000 0.165586 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
50.000000 -0.500000 0.215557 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
75.250000 -0.500000 0.173915 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
100.500000 -0.500000 0.024003 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
100.500000 26.500000 -0.437394 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
75.250000 26.500000 0.063979 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
50.000000 26.500000 0.682302 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
24.750000 26.500000 0.072308 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
-0.500000 26.500000 0.030665 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
-0.500000 53.500000 0.062313 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
24.750000 53.500000 0.067310 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
50.000000 53.500000 0.068976 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
75.250000 53.500000 0.065645 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
100.500000 53.500000 0.068976 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
100.500000 80.500000 0.112284 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
75.250000 80.500000 0.167252 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
50.000000 80.500000 0.170583 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
24.750000 80.500000 0.135604 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
-0.500000 80.500000 0.065645 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
It was made using LinuxCNC so it will look different to the Mach3 RPF's but the Z values should be similar.
You can see here that the first Z was "0.005680". There are a few random / noisy values here but they average around 0.08.
Let me sleep on this, things might be clearer in the morning. :idea:
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James

Khaledelbadae
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:23 am

Re: Generated file won't work !! Help

Post by Khaledelbadae » Thu Dec 06, 2018 12:42 pm

Hello James,

Tried several different scenarios and concluded that the error is in the readings taken by my machine as you said.

I probed the same area 3 consecutive times with the same file and it produced different values like shown in this image

https://i.ibb.co/x1KNZtk/IMG20181204151739.jpg

can the USB interface cause this? the controller?

mohoram
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:08 pm

Re: Generated file won't work !! Help

Post by mohoram » Fri Dec 07, 2018 8:42 pm

If that is normal, if you look at it well, there is a difference of 8 hundredths :D

Post Reply