AutolevellerAE won't run

Help for setting up and using
Post Reply
CaptainSq
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 6:46 am

AutolevellerAE won't run

Post by CaptainSq »

hi,
The 0.8.5 version of AutolevellerAE don't run on my Win 10 PC. I have re-installed both 32 and 64 bit latest Java + the JDKs. Still no luck.
However, the Autoleveller version starts an runs without any hickups.

The exe version of AE leaves no error message, it never starts. When i try to start using a command line window with the "java -jar" command i get numerous error messages from the java engine. Most notable is "Error in Application start Method". I'm not a Java programmer so I can't read the trace info to find the real problem.

Trace dump:

Code: Select all

C:\Users\Thom\Desktop>java -jar AutolevellerAE-0.8.5.jar
Exception in Application start method
java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
        at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.launchApplicationWithArgs(LauncherImpl.java:389)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.launchApplication(LauncherImpl.java:328)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
        at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
        at sun.launcher.LauncherHelper$FXHelper.main(Unknown Source)
Caused by: java.lang.RuntimeException: Exception in Application start method
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.launchApplication1(LauncherImpl.java:917)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.lambda$launchApplication$155(LauncherImpl.java:182)
        at java.lang.Thread.run(Unknown Source)
Caused by: javafx.fxml.LoadException:
file:/C:/Users/Thom/Desktop/AutolevellerAE-0.8.5.jar!/ALGUI/MainAL.fxml:23

        at javafx.fxml.FXMLLoader.constructLoadException(FXMLLoader.java:2601)
        at javafx.fxml.FXMLLoader.loadImpl(FXMLLoader.java:2579)
        at javafx.fxml.FXMLLoader.loadImpl(FXMLLoader.java:2441)
        at javafx.fxml.FXMLLoader.load(FXMLLoader.java:2409)
        at com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.Autoleveller.start(Autoleveller.java:95)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.LauncherImpl.lambda$launchApplication1$162(LauncherImpl.java:863)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl.lambda$runAndWait$175(PlatformImpl.java:326)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl.lambda$null$173(PlatformImpl.java:295)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at com.sun.javafx.application.PlatformImpl.lambda$runLater$174(PlatformImpl.java:294)
        at com.sun.glass.ui.InvokeLaterDispatcher$Future.run(InvokeLaterDispatcher.java:95)
        at com.sun.glass.ui.win.WinApplication._runLoop(Native Method)
        at com.sun.glass.ui.win.WinApplication.lambda$null$148(WinApplication.java:191)
        ... 1 more
Caused by: com.google.inject.ProvisionException: Unable to provision, see the following errors:

1) Error injecting constructor, java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
  at com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.ui.controllers.ALGUIController.<init>(Unknown Source)
  while locating com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.ui.controllers.ALGUIController

1 error
        at com.google.inject.internal.InjectorImpl$2.get(InjectorImpl.java:1028)
        at com.google.inject.internal.InjectorImpl.getInstance(InjectorImpl.java:1054)
        at javafx.fxml.FXMLLoader$ValueElement.processAttribute(FXMLLoader.java:929)
        at javafx.fxml.FXMLLoader$InstanceDeclarationElement.processAttribute(FXMLLoader.java:971)
        at javafx.fxml.FXMLLoader$Element.processStartElement(FXMLLoader.java:220)
        at javafx.fxml.FXMLLoader$ValueElement.processStartElement(FXMLLoader.java:744)
        at javafx.fxml.FXMLLoader.processStartElement(FXMLLoader.java:2707)
        at javafx.fxml.FXMLLoader.loadImpl(FXMLLoader.java:2527)
        ... 12 more
Caused by: java.lang.ExceptionInInitializerError
        at com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.ui.ALModel.setDefaultPrefs(ALModel.java:113)
        at com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.ui.ALModel.<init>(ALModel.java:103)
        at com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.ui.ALModel.getInstance(ALModel.java:154)
        at com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.ui.controllers.CommonFXML.<init>(CommonFXML.java:51)
        at com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.ui.controllers.ALGUIController.<init>(ALGUIController.java:69)
        at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance0(Native Method)
        at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(Unknown Source)
        at sun.reflect.DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.reflect.Constructor.newInstance(Unknown Source)
        at com.google.inject.internal.DefaultConstructionProxyFactory$ReflectiveProxy.newInstance(DefaultConstructionProxyFactory.java:126)
        at com.google.inject.internal.ConstructorInjector.provision(ConstructorInjector.java:111)
        at com.google.inject.internal.ConstructorInjector.construct(ConstructorInjector.java:90)
        at com.google.inject.internal.ConstructorBindingImpl$Factory.get(ConstructorBindingImpl.java:268)
        at com.google.inject.internal.InjectorImpl$2$1.call(InjectorImpl.java:1019)
        at com.google.inject.internal.InjectorImpl.callInContext(InjectorImpl.java:1085)
        at com.google.inject.internal.InjectorImpl$2.get(InjectorImpl.java:1015)
        ... 19 more
Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
        at com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.ui.ALModel.setDefaultPrefs(ALModel.java:113)
        at com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.ui.ALModel.<init>(ALModel.java:103)
        at com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.ui.ALModel.getInstance(ALModel.java:154)
        at com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.Controller.<init>(Controller.java:56)
        at com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.Controller.<clinit>(Controller.java:39)
        ... 35 more
Exception running application com.cncsoftwaretools.autoleveller.Autoleveller

C:\Users\Thom\Desktop>


Any suggestions?

Regards
/Thom
daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: AutolevellerAE won't run

Post by daedelus »

Thanks for the info.

The error message seems to suggest that it does not have access to your settings files. AE needs access to these files before starting and the files should be located in "C:\Users\Thom\.AE\"

Is there a way to make "C:\Users\Thom\" less secure in Win 10 settings somewhere? Or maybe your virus scanner has locked this folder.
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James
CaptainSq
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 6:46 am

Re: AutolevellerAE won't run

Post by CaptainSq »

Hi,
The folder is created and contains three XML files. I cannot see any limitations for the content in this folder or the folder itself. If java engine runs as me it should have my permissions which is full permissions. The only other sec. objects are SYSTEM and Administrators.

It's not write protected either. Maybe this has something to do with locale as I'm in Sweden. On the other hand I doubt it because I tried on two different Win 10 PCs now. Same problem and one of them is English/US setup Win 10, only keyboard has Swedish layout. The other one is however Swedish complete setup.

Does it matter if I use 32 or 64 bit? Both are 64 bit machines.

Any other suggestions ?

Regards /Thom
daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: AutolevellerAE won't run

Post by daedelus »

No I use a 64bit Win 10 machine too, but 32bit should be OK too.

I have had a closer look at your original stacktrace and think I am closing in on the problem now.

Can you please paste the contents of your settings.xml file in \.AE\ if its not empty.

thanks.
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James
CaptainSq
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 6:46 am

Re: AutolevellerAE won't run

Post by CaptainSq »

Here are both files (first my laptop, second my desktop)

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE properties SYSTEM "http://java.sun.com/dtd/properties.dtd">
<properties>
<comment>Last Written: 2017-06-06T15:57:51.423</comment>
<entry key="defaultDir">C:\Users\strin</entry>
<entry key="preferredUnits">Millimeters</entry>
</properties>
Desktop:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="no"?>
<!DOCTYPE properties SYSTEM "http://java.sun.com/dtd/properties.dtd">
<properties>
<comment>Last Written: 2017-06-02T15:49:59.93</comment>
<entry key="defaultDir">C:\Users\Thom</entry>
<entry key="preferredUnits">Millimeters</entry>
</properties>
The paths differ because I have another username on my laptop

/Thom
daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 387
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: AutolevellerAE won't run

Post by daedelus »

Thankyou, the setting files make a lot of sense now I have found the error.

So, I have found, fixed, and deployed the update.
If you download AE 0.8.5 from the website again, it should run OK this time.

Please let me know if not.
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James
CaptainSq
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jun 03, 2017 6:46 am

Re: AutolevellerAE won't run

Post by CaptainSq »

Seems ok, it starts now. Now I can begin to explore the software.
Thanks for fixing it. :)

/Thom
Post Reply