Command Line Operation?

Want something added to the software or web-site?
Post Reply
dfajardo
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 12:41 am

Command Line Operation?

Post by dfajardo » Wed Jan 01, 2014 1:38 am

It would be convenient to be able to run the AutoLeveller code from the command line, without a gui.

This would allow the Autoleveler to be "automatically" applied to a gcode file as part of a scripted tool chain, or as a preprocessor - e.g.:configure Linuxcnc to run the Autoleveler program any time the operator loads a file with a particular extension.

The command line version would be a basic Unix type 'filter' - Input from either a specified file or standard input, and output to a specified file or standard out. The 'default' limits, etc would be set from the input file, and command line options would allow the user to override these.
Doug Fajardo

daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Command Line Operation?

Post by daedelus » Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:00 pm

Great idea,

I can see this would be useful. I have quite a few improvments, fixes, enhancements etc. that I promised to make now, plus changes I want to make myself.

I just need to work things out with my job, then hopefully I will get more time to do autoleveller stuff soon I hope.
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James

cncdavid
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:55 pm

Re: Command Line Operation?

Post by cncdavid » Sun Jul 06, 2014 12:04 am

Hi i am working through building an auto tool changer and tool-chain-exe called from finished pcb-gcode, to try to speed up and remove the human mistakes out of this wonderful process..

Are you going to add this command line option at some point?

Kind Regards
David

daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Command Line Operation?

Post by daedelus » Sun Jul 06, 2014 9:35 pm

Sure I will, this week or next, I hope to release a new update with support for arc moves (G2 and G3) as well as many other changes and fixes. I have many other changes planned too so I cant promise this will be soon.

Sounds like a useful project you are working on BTW :)
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James

cncdavid
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:55 pm

Re: Command Line Operation?

Post by cncdavid » Mon Jul 07, 2014 9:45 am

Thanks my system is coming along well I will keep you updated as I get parts working.

The other this is optimizing gcode, This has been the biggest bug so far there a a few optimizers out there
but very few can handle the drill file and tool change!

I use Gopt and it works very well but the author has diapered off the face of the earth, but I have the source.

I will try to modify the c++ to turn it into a console program, because it is a drag and drop thing no good for a tool chain!

The auto changer is going hold 16 tools and use the original er20 Collete system in the spindle with out needing draw-bolt etc
I have done all the mach3 vb-macro and programing the micro-controller to drive the changer so we will keep working away on it.

Kind Regards
David

Zig
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 12:29 pm

Re: Command Line Operation?

Post by Zig » Tue Jul 08, 2014 10:35 pm

The author of the optimiser was known to show up on CNC Zone site in the PCB milling area.

Try him there.

cncdavid
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:55 pm

Re: Command Line Operation?

Post by cncdavid » Wed Jul 09, 2014 9:53 pm

HI I looked on cnczone but the last post was in 2009 that i found.
any way all done! I have now redone the software into a command line with arguments for the file path
I am driving it with a .bat file called from the completion of pcb-gcode and it works very well.

I have posted on the pcb-gcode forum to see if JJ can add tool number to pcb-setup for etching and milling tools.

Kind Regards
David

cncdavid
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:55 pm

Re: Command Line Operation?

Post by cncdavid » Sat Nov 08, 2014 4:12 am

Hi James,
Have you still got the command line thing on the horizon?
Kind Regards
David

daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 368
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Command Line Operation?

Post by daedelus » Sun Nov 09, 2014 5:45 pm

Hi David,

Yes, it is on the horizon but I cannot give a good time estimate at the moment. I did partially start a command line addition but this was taking longer than I thought so I had to re-prioritize. Rest assured though I have not abandoned the idea.

I have released version 0.8.6 today which fixes a few major issues but no CLI yet. Sorry.
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James

cncdavid
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 11:55 pm

Re: Command Line Operation?

Post by cncdavid » Mon Nov 24, 2014 7:03 am

Hi James,
Thanks for that, I was thinking it might be easy to add the file to open by CLI and every thing else including the append to the file name as a .conf file found in the same directory as the .exe file which is the default location? that way for normal users no file is found and the program works as it does now but if a .conf file is found then the settings are imported, Because in the tool chain only the file names change not any settings.
Kind Regards
David.

Post Reply