no autolevel function on 5mm long lines in y direction

Help for setting up and using
Post Reply
neptunier
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 12:47 pm

no autolevel function on 5mm long lines in y direction

Post by neptunier » Sat Sep 14, 2019 2:42 pm

hello,
i am engraving stainless steel handles 10mm wide 140mm long. these are not very straight and therefor i use the autoleveller software.
however i ran into a problem with 5mm long lines along the y axis (x axis is the 140mm long side of the handle). the handles are not level in the y direction. i made my rpf file with 2 rows of probe points. the probe points at that location differ nearly 1/10 of a millimeter.

however the autoleveller software just uses the entrance point z value , so at the end of the line the cut is 1/10 deeper then it should.

do i miss something or is there a way i could solve that issue. working out that issue is key to the success of that project.

attached are the ogf, rpf and autolevelled file.
thanks for your help,
michael
Attachments
probe 120.5.txt
(1.36 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
10mm 138 lang test.tap
(198 Bytes) Downloaded 7 times
AL10mm 138 lang test.tap
(1.08 KiB) Downloaded 2 times

daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: no autolevel function on 5mm long lines in y direction

Post by daedelus » Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:54 am

Hey Michael,

Thanks for all the information and files attached. It makes it much easier to diagnose.

I am using AE 0.9.5u2 which I presume you are too.

First I loaded the RPF file into AE which looked fine and as you described.

I then loaded the OGF into AE and expected to see a design in the drawing area, but was instead presented with this:
al_neptunier.JPG
Looks blank. Also, it detected the x-width is 0, so this would explain why nothing is drawn and also why levelling isnt performed properly. I then opened the OGF in a separate editor and again there was almost nothing there.

I then opened the file in a text editor and saw only a few lines of GCode:

Code: Select all

G00 G49 G40.1 G17 G64 G80 G50 G90
G21
(muster)
M03 S3200
G00 Z15.000
G00 X58.750 Y-2.907
G01Z0.577 F400
G01Y-2.200Z-0.130 F200
G01Y2.500
G01Y3.000Z0.736 F400
G00 Z15.000
G00
M5 M9
M30
Did you attach the wrong OGF or something?
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James

daedelus
Site Admin
Posts: 377
Joined: Tue Oct 01, 2013 1:41 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: no autolevel function on 5mm long lines in y direction

Post by daedelus » Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:25 pm

I just had a thought on this. The uploaded OGF is probably just a quick test. and the lines within the file are well above Z0. AE wont level any line which is not negative. Could this be the reason for the problems?
http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/. Software to probe and adjust a GCode file for PCB's or any probe-able surface.

http://www.autoleveller.co.uk/cnc-probe-guide/. A short guide to setting up the probe.

-James

neptunier
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 12:47 pm

Re: no autolevel function on 5mm long lines in y direction

Post by neptunier » Tue Sep 24, 2019 9:23 am

sorry for the late answer, i was on holidays.
i am using the newest version. the file is right, i just tested it again, in my autoleveller it works. it is just one 5mm long line with a ramp in and out. but the z height is the same on the 5mm long path although the z heights in the probe file are different on start and end of that toolpath.

i attach them again.
thanks,
michael
Attachments
probe 120.5.2.txt
(1.36 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
AL10mm 138 lang test2.tap
(1.08 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
10mm 138 lang2.2.tap
(16.09 KiB) Downloaded 3 times

Post Reply